My First New Year’s Resolution: Write A Book

I have never set a New Year’s resolution before. If the start of a new year is the only thing motivating you to change something in your life, then it’s probably not going to last very long. The best way to set yourself up to succeed with a resolution is to be as specific as possible. Don’t just plan to eat healthier, be happier, or lose a certain number of pounds. Focus on the positive side of what you are doing and make your resolution the exact activity that is going to help you achieve your goal. Make your resolution to go on a run three times a week or cut out soda from your diet to be healthier.

Like many people, my resolution is something that I’ve been meaning to start for a while now. But also like many writers, I need pressure. I won’t complete something unless there is a strict deadline, and I like to think that’s when I do my best work. So, here it is. My resolution is to write a book. Don’t worry, I have a plan. Normally I wouldn’t announce something like this, but I need the pressure of public knowledge to keep me going. The average novel is between 80,000 and 100,000 words. The lower end for a first book is usually better because it costs publishers less to print. That means I will have to write around 1,700 words per week to achieve that word count by the end of 2012. Who knows, it may not even take the whole year if I really get on a roll.

You’re probably wondering what my book idea is. I don’t want to give too much away because I can already tell I’m one of those weird protective/secretive writers. I will tell you I’ve always dreamed of writing historical fiction, and it will be set in Victorian Scotland around the 1850s. The story is based on historical events and real people, with a dash of mystery and a smidge of romance.

Broomielaw Bridge. Glasgow, Scotland.

That’s all for now 🙂 Happy New Year!

3 thoughts on “My First New Year’s Resolution: Write A Book

  1. I absolutely love this post! I also love the fact that we both are setting the same New Year’s resolution :-). I look forward to when your novel is finished and I hope you’re going to keep us updated on your progress. Happy writing!

  2. I am excited to see the finished product. You are a good writer and it’s going to be excellent. As you know, I love historical fiction. Add a “dash of romance and a smidge of mystery” and I’m hooked. And, “real people” really gets my attention which increases my anticipation! Get to work! I’ll eagerly await your first book.

Leave a Reply

